The countdown continues until the Dallas Cowboys take the field in Canton, OH for the annual Hall of Fame game. The game actually didn’t take place last year when the league had to cancel due to a field issue.The Cowboys are now 76 days away so we look back at who wore number 76 best. 14 players have worn this jersey with the first being John Gonzaga in 1960 and Richard Ash currently being the final one thus far.

The Cowboys are now 76 days away, so we look back at who wore No. 76 best. 14 players have worn this jersey, with the first being John Gonzaga in 1960 and Richard Ash being the most recent.

Gonzaga didn’t play in college, and his professional career was short-lived in Dallas. He started his career in San Francisco in 1956 as an offensive lineman. The Cowboys converted him to defensive end where he started 11 games in 1960. Following his departure, he returned to the offensive line with Detroit and Denver.

Ed Nutting and Bill Frank each had one-year tenures with the team in 1963 and 1964. John Niland came to Dallas in 1966 until 1974. He spent his final season with the Philadelphia Eagles the following year. During that time, he was a six-time Pro Bowl selection and a two-time All-Pro in 1971 and 1972 when the Cowboys went to back-to-back Super Bowls.

Larry Bethea wore 76 from 1978-1983, appearing in 81 games, of which he only started two. He finished with an official sack total of five. The NFL didn’t recognize sacks as an official stat until 1982.

Flozell Adams became the Cowboys right guard in 1998 until his final year in Dallas, 2009. He moved positions over to left tackle in 1999 and would remain there until he joined the Steelers in 2010. Adams caught a lot of flack from fans for his penalties and getting beat in one-on-one protection. So much so that fans gave him the nickname “Slowzell”. Adams was deaf in one ear, which didn’t help matters, but he was a solid player for the Cowboys. The five-time Pro Bowl selection only played in less than 16 games once in his career.

Based on career accomplishments, John Niland gets the nod as the best to wear 76. Although Adams had the longevity.


Player Position Years
John Gonzaga DE 1960
Ed Nutting OT 1963
Bill Frank OT 1964
John Niland OG 1966-1974
Larry Bethea DL 1978-1983
Dowe Aughtman OL 1984
Bob Otto DL 1986
Jeff Zimmerman OG 1987-1990
Alan Veingrad OL 1991-1992
Flozell Adams OT 1998-2009
Derrick Dockery OG 2012
Greg Hardy DE 2015
Zach Moore DE 2016
Richard Ash DE 2016-2017