The Dallas Cowboys are now 46 days away from the Hall of Fame Game. The Cowboys have assigned the number 46 to 10 players over 57 seasons. Six of those have been on offense and the other four on defense. The first was running back Craig Baynham in 1967-69.

Baynham was a 12th round selection in the 1966 NFL Draft, he would make his rookie debut in 1967. Baynham was used as a running back and kick returner over his three seasons. He would appear in 14 games during the regular season and two in the playoffs that season. He only rushed three times in the regular season with one touchdown, in the playoffs his usage increased to 14 carries for two touchdowns and 48 yards.

Baynham started eight games the following season at running back with 103 carries. While a member of the Dallas Cowboys he carried the ball 108 times for 442 yards and six touchdowns. Baynham also caught 32 passes for 393 yards and another three touchdowns. As a returner Baynham had 41 attempts for 1,035 yards. He joined Chicago in 1970.

Mark Washington joined the Cowboys in 1970 and given the number 46. Washington was a cornerback who played reserve mostly. In his first five seasons, Washington only started seven games. In 1975, he would start all 14 games for the Cowboys. Over the next three seasons he would only start a total of 11 games. Washington recorded 13 interceptions and seven fumble recoveries with Dallas. He spent his last season playing football with the New England Patriots in 1979.

1980’s and 1990’s

In 1980, Roland Soloman joined the Dallas Cowboys. He appeared in 10 games and returned just one punt for eight yards. He would finish the season with the Buffalo Bills. During 1985 season the Dallas Cowboys signed Todd Fowler, he spent 1984 and part of 1985 in the United States Football League (USFL). Folwer appeared in eight games that season.

Fowler would appear in 52 games over four seasons for the Dallas Cowboys. He would start seven games over the final two seasons. Fowler had 17 receptions for 113 yards. Fowler wouldn’t play football again following the 1988 season.

Ricky Blake played one season with the Dallas Cowboys in 1991. He would appear in two games with 15 rushes that attributed to one touchdown and 80 yards. Blake was a reserve running back behind Emmitt Smith who was in his second season with the Cowboys. Joe Fishback joined the team for the 1993 and 1994 seasons. Fishback appeared in 18 games over those two seasons, he was primarily on special teams.


Erik Bickerstaff signed as an undrafted free agent in 2003. He would appear in four games with 19 carries for 56 yards and a touchdown. Bickerstaff was played on the injured reserve list the next season and waived prior to the 2005 season.

Jon Condo signed with the Dallas Cowboys as an undrafted free agent in 2005. He took over long snapper duties that season but was waived after three games. He paved way for Cowboys to bring in LP Ladouceur. Condo has played with the Oakland Raiders as their long snapper since after the 2006 season when he joined the team’s practice squad.

Oliver Hoyte joined the Cowboys in 2006 as a linebacker but was converted to fullback. He would wear 53 that season and changed his number to 46 the next season. In two seasons Hoyte appeared in 22 games and 14 starts. Primarily he was used in blocking situations.

During the offseason prior to the 2016 season the Cowboys brought in Alfred Morris. Morris was looking to take over the starting role before the Cowboys drafted Ezekiel Elliott. Morris backed up Elliott for the entire season with some consistency in his workload until week 14. Morris appeared in 14 of 16 games with 69 carries for 243 yards and two touchdowns. Morris’ situation is uncertain with a healthy Darren McFadden and a likely increased workload for Elliott.

Player Position Years
Craig Baynham RB 1967-69
Mark Washington CB 1970-78
Roland Soloman S 1980
Todd Fowler TE 1985-88
Ricky Blake RB 1991
Joe Fishback S 1993-94
Erik Bickerstaff RB 2003-05
Jon Condo LS 2005
Oliver Hoyte FB 2006-07
Alfred Morris RB 2016-17